Posted in Thoughts

UFOs

My Quilt Guild takes the month of July off. With everyone’s busy schedules and vacation season in full swing, it’s easier to take the month off rather than trying to get everyone together.

Month after month, I watch everyone bring their beautiful work in front of the group for show and tell, and I don’t have anything to show. See, my pup and I quilt a lot of our days away, ok, honestly, I quilt, Pixel tries to eat the quilts, but we send out the quilts to our customers as soon as we get them done. So even if we have done TONS that month, I never have anything to show for it.

My project, Project UFO, for our break is to work on quilting for myself and working on my UnFinished Objects. I have quite a few of them.  I always figured that I gave up on items because I get bored with them, but the more I dig into the pile, I am seeing that my UFOs are falling into one of three categories:

1. Unfinished due to lack of time.
2. Unfinished due to lack of know-how.
3. Unfinished due to lack of usefulness.

It’s never because I don’t want to finish an item, I run into a load of work for the store, something I don’t know how to approach or how to do, or I can’t think of anything to do with the finished product, so I just don’t finish it!

I thought when I started Project UFO, that I would hate it…  Thinking I was giving up on items just due to lack of interest, but with every little item that I check off the list, I am filled with a sense of accomplishment and pride that I was not expecting.

Project UFO started with a MacDuff Bag from a kit and a pattern that I purchased from Janice Maroni when she spoke to our quilt guild a few months ago.  Every other project I have completed after that has been placed into that bag.

As the bag fills up, it makes me smile.  I will talk more about my UFOs in the coming days and post some pictures!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

