Posted in Thoughts, Tip

UFOs II: The Wrath of Scraps

I used a zig-zag stitch on my shamrocks, it was a little easier to pivot, but I wished I had a bigger opening in my presser foot to see exactly where I was.

Ok, ok, it’s not really The Wrath of Scraps, I just thought that was a funny title.  So in my last post, I talked about Project UFO, and my desire to get some of my unfinished work tied up.  I gave three general reasons for not finishing items, I’m going to skip number 1 for now and talk about number 2

Unfinished due to lack of know-how.

I am a self-taught quilter, not one class, and sometimes, that REALLY shows.  I can fake my way through a lot of items, but sometimes, faking isn’t an option.  Take for example, applique.  I mean, I get the basic gist of it, but I am SO not good at it, and so items that require even a LITTLE bit of applique, no matter how much I want to do them, fall to the bottom of the “TO DO” pile.  My Table Runner project is there for this reason.

When I joined my Quilt Guild last year, I started participating in their Fat Quarter Swap so most months, I walk away with at least one pile of Fat Quarters, which is great because the fabric is usually coordinated and looks great together, and is full of choices that I wouldn’t have made, but love.  I decided then also that I needed to make some seasonal table runners for my dining room table, what a perfect opportunity to use up seasonal coordinated Fat Quarters for something that I NEEDED!  So I found a FREE Pat Sloan pattern on-line that would look great in many different colors.  I modified the pattern slightly (leaving off the two end triangles on each side, so it is pointed on the ends) so that I could do it with the 4-5 Fat Quarters that I was winning each month.

Great idea!  Still, it sat and sat for about 6 months.  One word, applique.  Yeah, I knew I could use the non-sew fusible webbing, but that felt like a cop out.  Plus I was going to be picking up a new skill, right?  So I read on-line a little bit, I consulted my great Quilting Book, so I had all of the knowledge I was going to get…  Still  I had to just dive in and give it a go.

I tried out the Blanket stitch for the hearts, the hardest part for me was knowing which part of the stitch to pivot on.

So I did, and the results have been pretty good if I do say so myself.  I realize that it takes a lot of practice, however (and the right presser foot!).  I’m still not perfect, or as good as I want to be, but I’m getting better with each attempt.

I’m not sure I will ever do an applique quilt, but I’m going to keep at it, we will see what the future holds.

My table runners. So far I have 6, Summer, Winter, Christmas, Valentine's Day, St. Patrick's Day, and Fourth of July. I have about 5 more that I want to make.
Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

