Posted in General, Thoughts

UFO’s III: Octopus’s Garden in the Shade

Pieced together with Beatles fabric around my appliqued Abbey Road inspired center medalion

One of the other reasons I was finding in going through my UFOs was “Unfinished due to lack of time.”  One of the projects that sat in the bottom of my bag for quite a while was a Beatles quilt.  My husband has been a Beatles fan since he was introduced to them by his father as a child.  My parent’s listened to the Beatles, mostly the early years.  When my husband and I started dating, he got me on a strict regimen of listening to the later years of the Beatles catalog.  Needless to say, the music theorist in me found a honey-hole  of amazing music.

What does this have to do with quilting?  I have been sewing since I was a kid, my mom taught me, and together we made prom dresses, play costumes and lots of little crafts.  I liked it, and I made curtains and duvets for my apartments once moved out, but about eight years ago my mom took a quilting class, and she showed me what she was learning, and I enjoyed it so much more than apparel!  The first Christmas that my husband and I were married, I made him a photo quilt with Beatles album covers.

Close Up of the center Abbey Road inspired Medalion

When I realized that Cranston Village had come out with the Beatles fabric, I had to get a hold of most of it and I wanted to make a small quilt, with it, and then I got the bright idea of doing a cool center block, inspired by the colors in fabrics as well as the wall in my old apartment that I painted for my husband.  I actually made two of these minis and sold one of them in my Etsy shop.  So, the first, I finished and sold almost a year ago, the second sat in the bottom of a bag for that same amount of time.  I knew I wanted to hang on to this one because the fabric is out of print, and I never made the time to do it.  I had finished literally dozens of quilts for others, but none for myself, that’s how it goes with our time, isn’t it?  We do for others first.  Well, needless to say, I took the, what, 2 hours it took to finish it up, and threw it into the bag (like I talked about here).  Oh yeah, and I finished the bag, too.

I also pieced together a quilt for our other Etsy shop that I had not found the time to quilt and finish.  It is a Pop Art style Ms. PacMan quilt, using her face and body in 4 different color schemes.  I STILL have not found the time to photograph and list it for sale, however, so photos will be coming shortly. 🙂

Happy Sewing everyone!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

