Posted in General, Tip

Mission: Foundation

I was handed something recently, it was a baggie, it contained a piece of paper and some pieces of fabric, I was told that there wasn’t time to discuss because it was a surprise for someone standing near-by…  I was told I had 1 month to complete and return it…

I got home and was like….  What the ?!?!?  Foundation Piecing?  I don’t know how to do that!!  I looked at the paper, nothing but lines, shapes and numbers…  I looked in my trusty A-Z Quilting book, and I was more confused, it didn’t have a step by step how-to, but a do’s and don’ts of foundation paper piecing, I was breaking out into a cold sweat, literally!  I looked for a tutorial online for the particular block, nada!  There was a phone number on the paper for questions for the person who slipped it to me in the first place, but I wasn’t about to do that, what and look like an idiot?! 🙂  Guess what did it for me…

YOUTUBE saved the day!  I just typed “Foundation Paper Piecing ” and came up with this video,

 I watched it a couple of times, just to make sure I understood, and then tried it.  I had so much fun!  And the blocks turned out GREAT!  I want to post their picture, but am trying to be vague as to not ruin the surprise, just in case anyone I know is following my blog here!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

