Posted in General, Thoughts

Trying to Remember

It has been a busy time around here!  Some personal things have kept me out of my quilting studio, along with the weather!  Here in Massachusetts, we have had an unseasonably warm start to fall.  In fact, I can hardly believe that it is fall at all yet as we are going to reach near 80 again today.  We have some cooler weather coming later in the week, but drawing this close to October (unbelievable, where has this year gone?!), I would expect to be living in my husband’s cast off UConn hoody by now, but instead, I’m still scrounging for tank tops and thin or short lounging pants.  I am trying to remember what fall feels like!  As a matter of fact, I still haven’t changed out my summer table runner…

The watermelons still sit on my Table

This is actually only in part due to the fact that it has been so hot.  The other part is that I got fabric for my Fall table runner at the September meeting in the fat quarter swap of my quilt guild, but still haven’t attempted to make the table runner.  I did, however, proudly finish a Mario quilt for the shop, all in one day! Well, not ALL in one day, I got all of the pieces cut the day before, but did all of the piecing and then quilting all in one day.

I also got new glasses, and contacts for the first time in several years.  Quilting with contacts in for the first time was interesting, but all in all went pretty well.

So here’s hoping we will get the cooler weather soon so that I can remember what the calm cool air feels like, and what it’s like to sleep without the A/C on for a few nights before it gets too cold! 🙂

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

