Posted in Thoughts, Tip

QAD Update

I have been being hard on myself for not finishing or even starting my last order. I have been making steady progress for finishing stuff, just not that one.

Here’s a quick recap: 2 orders plus one extra for inventory (made it to photograph with one of my orders), 1 charity quilt, 2 bindings hand sewn down, another charity quilt quilted and binding a little less than half done.

So if all goes well, by the end of day tomorrow, I will have completed 8 quilts in the last 2 weeks, not too shabby considering that I had to spend 2 days shopping and cutting.

I am on my third hand tacked binding now, and I have to admit, that all the while I had been psyching myself out over really nothing. Once you have the right tools, it’s pretty much a breeze. Here’s what I have figured out. I quit thread, I have switched to using a single strand of embroidery floss, tied in a loop (and thusly doubled). This is for a couple of reasons, one being the sheer volume of the stuff in my house, the other for the amount of color choices that I have. I find that the work comes out a lot better if the color is matched perfectly to the binding.

The other tip is the needle has to have a big enough eye for the floss to slide appropriately, but not too large to make it difficult to get through the fabric. That has proved for me the biggest feat so far, but I remain hopeful that it WILL happen.

My other trick has been to use small and medium sized binder clips to hold the binding down ahead of where I sewing. It has helped a lot in keeping everything nice and also moving along.

That told a lap sized quilt has taken me about 4-5 hours to tack down.

Those are my thoughts for today. And now, off to dreamland. Night night!!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

