Posted in General, Thoughts

Sew… And some fangirl geeklove

I am looking at an empty design wall today. I have a lot of things on my list to do, and am struggling a bit on where to begin… Always the hardest part for me, but, I do know that I have more than a few things I am wanting to do before my next rush of quilt orders come in.

Real quick-like, though, I want to talk about last week. I went to the New England Quilt Museum’s Quilt show, Images. Holy cow, talk about inspiring!! Not only was it a huge quilt show with vendor mall, but there were talks, lectures and panels. I soaked it up!! I haven’t yet, I do not believe, blogged about my newest online love, Quilty. It is smart, fun, hip, fresh look at quilting, and I am pretty much smitten. I discovered it maybe 2 months ago, and have already caught up, watching all 70-someodd episodes. I watched several in bed as my husband and I were getting ready to go to sleep for a few nights in a row. I would watch them with headphones on as my laptop speakers are pretty bad, so I would randomly start laughing out loud, and after about the 3rd night of this, my husband says to me, “What are you watching?!”

To which I replied “Quilty” in a quick and slightly clipped fashion, so that I wouldn’t miss the next line! I paused the episode (can’t remember exactly which one it was, though), because I knew there would be more questions to follow.

He said, “You’re watching something about quilting, and it’s funny?!”

Oh yea, babe, it’s, to me anyway, HILARIOUS! I do indeed laugh out loud. Quilty hostess and creator, Mary Fons lives and works in Chicago, I lived in the suburbs for about 10 years, she, I believe grew up in small town Iowa (I grew up in a tiny town just across the river in Illinois), she likes to write, act and perform. I was a music major who loved to act and write to a small extent. We are about the same age, etc, etc. So I GET IT… Sometimes, I feel like Quilty was written for me. Mary talks the way I talk, she’s about my age in a world of Super nice, but much older ladies, and it’s nice to have a face out there to speak to what I’m trying to do in the quilting world.

What does this have to do with Images in Lowell, Massachusetts, you may ask? Well, Mary Fons, as well as her mom, quilting ledgend, Marianne Fons were there! The first night, they gave a lecture, entitled “Beyond the Binding: Ordinary People, Extraordinary Quilts.” Talk about amazing quilts! They showed about 40 examples of quilts that were extraordinary acts of engineering, risk, or personality, as well as some other examples of their own and others’ works. If they do this talk again, which I believe they probably will, and you are anywhere nearby, GO SEE IT! Worth more than the price of admission.

The next morning, both Mary and her mom sat on a breakfast pannel, entitled “Quilting in a Crystal Ball: The Future of Quilting.” What a great discussion that lead to so many good ideas, a sort-of coming together of old and new and a just a lot of really nice points, leading me to again say that quilters are pretty much the coolest people around, even though you have bad apples in any bunch. There were bad apples in the room, you could tell by their mildly snarky comments and sort-of air of “I know what I’m doing all the time, I don’t need help from anyone”… And listen, I myself have been there. I thought I knew everything there was to know about quilting at one point, before I really started quilting in earnest. I, however, reached the point of wanting to learn everything I can so that I’m not held back by my own ego, I dove into the world of quilting headlong, there are so many things out there to learn and try, I don’t want to box myself into “knowing them already”!

Anywho… I was inspired… I was inspired to design, sew, learn, and try to get my foot in the door in publishing. I am going to try to keep my blog more up-to-date, and I’m going to try to spend as much time as possible in my studio, working, designing, blogging, and quilting, so that maybe I can call myself a “real” quilter someday.

In the meantime, I will continue to watch and read Quilty. Even if you’re not a beginner, give it a shot, you might learn something! Ok, enough talking, I’m going to go sew!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

