Posted in Thoughts

Stretching

I have been trying to stretch a little with my sewing, spread my wings a bit if you will. Being primarily a strip piecer for my shop quilts, between jobs I like to explore some blocks and techniques that are foreign to me. Today I gave Cathedral Window blocks a shot.

I had seen the technique on Fons and Porter Love of Quilting on PBS and thought, I could probably do that… I have to say, it isn’t easy, but better than some other first attempts. I smartly made something small…

Now like I have said before, even with almost 10 years experience under my belt, I am still, in essence a beginner. I have the whole 1/4 inch seam thing down, and my HSTs and QSTs are actually bordering on great now, and I have made more quilts than I can remember, probably in the 100 range. The but is this: I am 100% self taught, I have never taken a class, never had a quilting buddy, so everything I know I have stumbled onto somehow myself.

That is until recently, when I gave up the notion that I was a quilting prodigy and started going to lectures, reading books, and watching some TV programs. I have yet to take a class, but I probably will soon. Heck, it may even be a beginner class. And I know that my quilting has turned a corner in the last year since I have started opening my mind to the world of quilting, and it will continue to get better the more I stretch and grow.

Anyway, here’s my blocks, that will probably turn into a trivet or just something for my wall to remind me to keep moving forward.

20120817-153633.jpg

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

