Posted in General, Thoughts

Quilts are Important

So, I have spent most of this week sick on the couch. Which means I have been using quilts rather than making them!

I made this quilt for myself, it is one of only 4 quilts in my house and the only one that I consider mine, the other 3 I made for my husband. Mine isn’t that big, I can’t wrap myself in it, however, it is the perfect size for curling up under, and long enough to have a little extra room for Pixel to curl up on.

She has spent most of the week chilling with me on the couch, but has needed some chew time. Most of it I have contained to chew toys, but she has gone after my pillow a couple of times, and tried to eat some Kleenex.

Anyway, the amount of comfort I stored up for just myself when making myself a quilt has been pretty big, and the hours spent making a quilt compared to the hours of comfort that come out of them for yourself or the recipient is pretty low. It would be worth the time for just this one illness. But this quilt will last me countless illnesses, not to mention all of the time using it for cuddling and snuggling when I’m not sick! Well worth the time spent.

Pixel agrees.

20130405-172020.jpg

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

