Posted in Pattern, Uncategorized

Thank You, Thank you!

I am actually to the point of posting my first freebie pattern!! You all are probably not quite as excited as I am, but wait ’till you see it!

I was in a quandary over what to do for my Summer themed row for my quilt guild’s Row-by-Row challenge quilt. Further constrained by the required color palate of Tertiary (as in red-orange, yellow-orange, yellow-green, blue-green, blue-violet, and red-violet), I tossed around a bunch of ideas, should I do spools? That would fit the color scheme, but no super summery, sail boats, can’t really do those in yellow-green…

I thought and I thought and finally it hit me, POPSICLES! Super summery and fits great in the artificially colored feeling tertiaries!

Image

So I searched for some patterns, found a couple, but none of them that I really liked, so, I set about making my own! I have done a fair amount of paper piecing, but never made a pattern, so I searched out some help on how to do it, and I would like to share my pattern with you…

Image

The sweet little pop finishes at 5 1/2 x 7 1/2, but feel free to make it bigger if you so desire, and you don’t even have to make it in tertiary colors, make it whatever palate you like!

I figured that there are MANY other paper piecing tutorials on the web, all of which would be better than mine, so if you’re not already well versed in how to do that, check one out. I learned to paper piece from YouTube, being able to see the videos helped me a lot.

One other quick tip: I only had one fabric for all but 2 of my popsicles in the tertiary colored fabric, so I used the back for the lighter areas and the front for the darker, concave, sections of the popsicle. If you are going to do that, it’s a little confusing for right side/wrong side, what I did was lay the fabric in the SAME direction as the section before it that I was sewing to, so if I was right side up, I would sew the next section right side up, and would get the back when I flipped it. I promise, once you get it wrong, it will make perfect sense! 🙂

Happy Sewing, hope you enjoy!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

