Posted in Uncategorized

Plain and Fancy II

I got my fourth block in my Plain and Fancy quilt done yesterday. I am loving the way my blocks are coming together! I started the BOM 5 months behind and am at least 2 blocks ahead of some of the ladies at the shop I am doing it through.

IMG_2117.JPG

Also, I am starting on a great fabric reorganization. I am a little nervous, there is a lot to do, but my stash has outgrown my current system (yardage on hangers in my studio closet, FQs in a shelf of my bookcase, scraps sorted by color in plastic shoe boxes). In every case, there is far too much fabric to be contained. I now have piles and piles of yardage that won’t fit on the hangers (which I am now out of…), plus two big totes, one of shop fabric, one of fabric for charity quilts.

So I ordered 300 Silver era comic book boards and am going with mini bolts for yardage, minier bolts for FQs, and hopefully at that point I will figure out something to do with scraps :). I want some sort of hutch/shelving for mini bolt storage, but will wait to see what I want when I see how many mini bolts I have. 🙂

For me, it has been a struggle to keep my studio closet organized, maybe I can get somewhere when I get the yardage out of there. And if I’m super lucky, I want to try to fit a bigger cutting table in my studio. That however, seems unlikely. 🙂

My book boards arrive today, wish me luck.

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

One thought on “Plain and Fancy II

Leave a Reply

