Posted in General, Thoughts

Has it really been that long?

Well, at least I have been busy quilting. I have been on a mission to finish all of my UFOs so that I can move on to some more fun stuff. 😄

I totally spaced on taking my doll quilt this month, it took me a while to figure out the “school Days” theme, but I finally stitched myself a piece of lined notebook paper and then decorated with Sharpie which I love, btw. And a doll quilt was born.

Yesterday I finished my nephew’s third birthday quilt. I don’t love it, but it’s pretty cute and really heavy and warm. Even if I don’t love it, it is still going to be functional.

IMG_2171.JPG

I also finished a project that has been on my UFOs for about 2 years. I committed to donating a quilt in my uncle’s honor when he passed away. I finished the top in a timely fashion, but couldn’t bring myself to finish the quilt. I think I wasn’t really ready to let it go yet. I kept showing it to people in hopes of shaming myself to finish it up, but it was not to be until today. I got it basted, quilted and bound. Now it just needs a label, and it is off to the cancer center. I feel terrible that it took me so long, but I am glad to have it finished up. And much more glad to have it off my to-do list!

IMG_2170-0.JPG

This oldie may has been around longest of all my UFOs. I never had any specific purpose in mind for it, and I could never decide if I wanted it larger or just the size it is. I also wasn’t totally in love with the prints in it, so it sat for a LONG TIME. I am in charge
of collecting charity quilts this year for my guild and we so far have only the two I made, so I wanted to finish it to donate. I quilted it with a bunch of straight lines, and decided I couldn’t live without it, so I am keeping it.

IMG_2168.JPG

My finished top count which was 8 when I started this push is now down to 2, which really excites me. One is a keeper, one is for donation. My other big project, the great fabric re-org, may be finally winding down. I have found some shelving to house my comic book card wrapped mini-bolts. A clothing store down the street from me is moving so they are selling fixtures. I bought one for the rock bottom price of $20! So happy. Now I just have to get them home. 😛

In other news I got rear-ended in my car on the way to a doctors appointment last week, so I am going crazy waiting on the insurance to get it fixed.

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

2 thoughts on “Has it really been that long?

Leave a Reply

