Posted in Uncategorized

On My Design Wall

IMG_2321

That’s the view of my design wall.  So right now, I have two projects in progress and up on my design wall. They seem to be completely diametrically opposed. The first is my Metro Quilt.  I don’t remember now where I got the kit, but it was in my “kit buying phase” of earlier this year, I think I got 5 different quilt kits this year, I’m halfway through them, (2 complete, 1 in the works), so I guess it has been pretty productive. Especially since all of them were just “for me/fun”.

IMG_2117

I also have my Plain and Fancy Quilt in progress. I have 4 blocks done, so I am almost halfway done with the blocks, but then all of those little stars and oh, I don’t know why I signed up for the applique version!

I don’t believe that I will have any more finishes for the year, but I am super proud of all that I accomplished this year. I wrote down all of my finishes in a journal (goal #1 completed for 2014), and I totaled up to 19 small quilt finishes (Doll Quilts, mug rugs), 12 Crib Quilts, 10 Lap sized quilts and 1 bee block and the back for my individual MQG group (I had help with the back, I didn’t do it all on my own).

IMG_2313

That’s 42 quilting finishes! That doesn’t count the pants hemmed, the crayon rolls or felt food made, etc, etc.

Since the weather here has been SO gloomy and my quilt holder husband is gone from sun up to sun down these days, I have not been able to successfully photograph any of my quilts.  But I did finish this pattern, Asterisk. I did mine in some of the Moda Pure fabrics. I will try to post a photo soon, we will see if the sun cooperates 🙂

I also have finished an old top in Elizabeth Hartman’s New Waves pattern. I have made three of these now, this was the first top that I finished, but the last quilt to get quilted. I made another for my mom, and one for my great-aunt. Mine is in mostly Amy Butler prints with a few others thrown in for good measure. Back when I didn’t quite understand color… 🙂

IMG_2168

The last bit of YAY for me for the year is that my Zombie Apocalypse quilt from my Etsy shop sold.  It’s going to a zombie obsessed 2-year old girl in the midwest.  I was a little sad to see it go, but I know it went to a good home and will be loved for years to come! 🙂

IMG_2101

I think for now, that is all I have to report.

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

One thought on “On My Design Wall

Leave a Reply

