Posted in General, Thoughts, Uncategorized

Pressing, Oh Pressing

So, my ironing board cover needs to be replaced, after 2 years, it’s starting to transfer stains onto my fabric when I use Best Press…  Boo… Hiss!!!  I went onto Amazon and bought one today, won’t be here until Friday though.  I have a small Steady Betty that I have on my sewing machine cabinet, but I can’t use Best Press on it.  Trust me, I tried it, and this happened:

IMG_0015

Ugh, thankfully, those suckers are two-sided!

I also have a portable ironing pad, but when I used it on my sewing cabinet with best press, this happened:

IMG_0016

Double ugh…  Yes, those are huge bubbles in the wood.  I am so upset, I LOVE this cabinet.

It’s a real problem.  I thought about making myself a press board, but for just a couple of days, I don’t want to put in the money, time and effort for something I am going to use twice.  It leaves me with the conundrum, don’t sew or don’t press…  Neither of which are great options. 🙂

If anyone knows how to fix my cabinet bubbles, I’m all ears, by the way. 🙂

Piece out!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

3 thoughts on “Pressing, Oh Pressing

  1. Ugh, I hate that! I don’t have any tips on your wood problem, but I did have a question: have you had any success removing the stains that have been transferred to your fabric from the ironing board cover? I’m going through the same issues right now.

    1. I have been able to get some out with just water right after they happened. So I would think a 1-2 hour soak in an oxyclean type product would work without wreaking too muck havoc.

Leave a Reply

