Posted in Thoughts

On Finishing Metro…

As I was finishing up Metro over the weekend, I was thinking about the fact that my 3 Year-old quilt pile is almost done.  We have 3 nieces and 4 nephews.  The oldest is 16, I came to the game when she was about 9, we have had fun together ever since.  Then there’s the “cluster kids,” in the first about 3 years of my husband and my marriage, our 3 sister in laws (husband’s sister, husband’s brother’s wife, my brother’s wife) had 5 kids…  Talk about a baby boom…  I had just started to quilt again when M, the oldest of the “cluster” was born, so I made her a crib quilt.  Then it began, I was off to the races, B, then I, then A, then C all arrived over the next 2 years.  Each getting a baby quilt. (Oh, I shudder to think about those quilts, I doubt a one of them stayed in one piece!)  Then when M was turning 3, I decided they all needed “Bigger kid quilts”  I wanted to make them cute, but not babyish.  First M, then B, then I, finally A.

I am happy how they all turned out, and I will post pictures of Metro (I know, I know, I keep saying it and never doing it, but I swear I will, just be patient!) soon.  I am so happy to have all of our great nieces and nephews, they are all totally different people with totally different personalities, although most are very talkative, one is shy with profound things to say when she does speak.  All of them make us smile.  Even the 16 year old. 🙂  Graduation quilts coming soon?  I don’t even want to think about it! 🙂

Metro is the last of the Cluster to turn 3, thus the last bigger kid quilt for a while.  Phew, it was pretty fast and furious there for a while.  I am proud to say all of them but one were in the hands of the child on their birthday, (Sorry, I…)  Now I still have a little over 2 years to finish the last nephew (hopefully totally last one).

Today, I’m actually blogging from the past (wooooohhhh Spooky!), I wrote this out yesterday and had it post today since today I am in NYC at a concert with my husband.  Depending on when you are reading this, we are in the car, eating and hanging out at Chelsea Market, or at the concert.  Looking forward to seeing a great show, a bunch of super talented musicians.  The doggies?  They are at camp (that’s what we call boarding to feel less guilty about it! :))

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

One thought on “On Finishing Metro…

Leave a Reply

