Posted in General, Thoughts

Now That’s Fancy!!

Yesterday I finished up my last block in the Plain and Fancy quilt top!  I am SUPER excited about how the blocks came out!  The other exciting thing is that this is one of my two week goals before vacation!  I don’t know if I will get to all of them before we leave, but I’m going to keep trying.  Anyway, check out all of the completed blocks:

IMG_0039

I am completely in love with my design wall right now! 🙂  The #9 block (that dark blue center one) used a template, which was really the first time I had worked with one.  It turned out OK, it wasn’t super easy, though.  I traced the template on to freezer paper, then pressed the freezer paper on to a piece of protein bar box.  The problem I had, though, was that the printed side of the box was on the fabric, and it was too slippery.  I will not use the slippery side next time, or I will rough it up, or I will put some duct tape on it (that by the way is my ruler strategy also).  I will not be completely intimidated by using templates anymore.

IMG_0040I chose the darker blue to be my binding and backing and ordered it from fabric.com.  It will be super sharp as the binding, since the borders are all the light cream.  I think that will make the binding really pop.  So it’s March now, I still have 9 months to finish to be on goal.  Granted, there are about 1,000,000 other things to do in those 9 months as well… 🙂

The dogs have been remarkably well behaved today while I was working Pixel slept on the couch as Taco slept on the dog bed in my office.

Tomorrow, I work on the twinsies, maybe… 🙂  I am having trouble with motivation, I have to work on what I want to work on, not necessarily what I plan on.  Well, I have some laundry to get done, and a quick run to the store.  So, keep stitching!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

One thought on “Now That’s Fancy!!

Leave a Reply

