Posted in General, Thoughts

Have You been Wondering?

Have you wondered where I have been as of late?  Well, I assure you that I have IMG_0053IMG_0054been working, but also, my Mom was in town for 2 weeks…  The dogs were just as thrilled as I was to have her here:

They both love their grandma.  She loves to sit with them and pet them and pet them! 🙂  That’s a good grandma!

While she was here, my mom and I each made a quilt!  I finished mine within the 2 weeks she was here; she got only half of her binding turned.  Here’s what they both looked like on the design wall.

IMG_0052IMG_0051

Mine is the left, hers is the right, she was feeling the springy pinks with purples and greens, I went with a cool palate of all green, blue and purples.  I think they both turned out pretty cute!

BIMG_0057IMG_0050oth finishes, turned out great in my opinion, mom showed hers off because it’s really her first quilting project that she did start to finish.  I was super proud of her, she stuck with it, even when she hated doing it, or when her points didn’t match up that well, she figured out a way to keep going, I have to give her props also for her fabric choices.  Granted, we both just used fabric from my stash, but she is typically not one to mix different colors together, so her picking pink and green nearly floored me, but I was so happy she did!

My light blue fabric was one of Tula Pinks, and it has some raccoon faces on it, in a few of the blocks, I just got some raccoon eyes, so I named it “Somebody’s Watching You.” That amused me very much.  On the back, I used up a number of weird scraps that I had laying around, I did some extra border pieces from both of our quilts, plus the long skinny leftovers from other backs I had done in the past.  I am not sure what I’m going to do with it, but it was our project for whenever we had a rainy day, or my hubby was watching a ball game, it was nice to have a little escape for those situations!  I think I might try to come up with a project for the three of us when my Aunt comes back with my mom in September!  something smaller though…  I’ll have to think on it.

Yesterday morning I dropped my mom off at the airport super early in the morning, IMG_0056and when I got back home, I was exhausted.  I didn’t get much done yesterday, but today I broke out the fabric for a quilt that I am making for my husband’s cousin that is getting married in June.  It will be my first quilt top made completely from solids, and it will be, besides the ones that I sell, my first repeat quilt.  I am using the Asterisk Pattern again, I am in love with that quilt, it’s a good large lap size, it was very fast to put together, and it’s very visually striking!  I am doing this version in all Bella Solids, in black, grey, white, and a pop of blue.  I am super excited to see how it turns out in the end.  I think it’s going to be awesome.  I got the asterisk appliquéd down today, and that’s it, but I did have a late start, due to needing some thread.

IMG_0055I also am doing some thinking on what to do for my niece’s graduation quilt.  She doesn’t graduate for another year, but I found a fabric pack on Gotham Quilts.  She is graduating a the top of her class and planning on going to college for Bio-Tech, so I thought the science-y fabrics would be perfect for her dorm room.  I will be thinking hard on what do to with what pattern I want to make with these gems.  So, as you can see, even though I haven’t said much, I have been hard at it.  I will be posting and sewing more in the coming weeks, so we can all look forward to that! 🙂

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

2 thoughts on “Have You been Wondering?

Leave a Reply

