Posted in General, Thoughts

In Fashion?

I’m going to be honest with you, I live in New Hampshire, that’s not really the center of the fashion universe.  Boston is not really known as fashion forward like the nearby high fashion of Manhattan, and New Hampshire?  Well, maybe a few steps away from that…  Quite a few.

I’m kinda used to used to living “off trend” as it were.  I grew up in a very small town in the Midwest.  The “coolness” of the coasts took, well honestly, YEARS to reach my small town.  All that being said, I still sorta get it.  I work in color and pattern and trends.  I may not dress in haute couture, but I can understand how it works and what it is.

Driving along the main road in my New Hampshire town this morning, I witnessed someone walking with a Marilyn Manson shirt on.  I immediately wondered, is that guy being ironic, serious, or was it 1995 again?  Was I going to turn on the radio and hear a mixture of Hootie and the Blowfish, NIN and Natalie Merchant?  Well, we may never know the answers as to whether this Manson fan was serious or not, but I am pretty sure it’s not 1995 again.

20 years have passed, and I’m not just about to graduate from High School, thank goodness!  But I was amused to have that moment of flashback to then.

IMG_0062Back to the present and reality, it is spring for real, finally!  We had to put in the A/C in the bedroom on Sunday.  It was SO hot.  We haven’t used it since, however.  The lilacs are out and they smell so yummy and bring back so many memories of my grandma’s house in the spring.  The neighbors have all sorts of flowering trees and bushes.  The dogs are enjoying the warmth and they are basking in the sun whenever possible.

IMG_0059Today, I am working on Plain and Fancy, I have lots of little piles, I have cut all but the background for all of the pieced sashing stars.  Is this quilt still in fashion?  I think so, yeah.  It’s been out for a couple of years, and it’s not necessarily my colors or fabrics, but because of good design and color choices, it is so striking and I think it’s classic, timeless, and therefore still in fashion, and I think it will always be in fashion.

Marilyn Manson t-shirts, though?  I’m not so sure if those are all that timeless. 🙂

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

