Posted in General, Thoughts, Tip

Unlikely Heros

I have talked about pressing before, and I have talked about some of the problems I have with it, I talked about that mostly here.

Well, I’m still on Tiny Star Sashing Street in Plain and Fancy Town, I feel like for as long as these sections are taking, I might as well get a house on this street.  However, today, I hit a BIG pressing snag.  I had HUGE stains/spots on the white parts of two of my tiny purple stars.  Now, granted I could have re-made them, I have enough fabric, but I was like, really?!  REALLY?!  Best Press isn’t supposed to spot.  Did I scorch them?  Is there any possible way to remedy this?  Well, here’s the after to prove that there is…

IMG_0063

Yes, it’s true, I was too afraid to take a before, they were that bad.  You can still see a tiny spot in the center triangle on the bottom of the right hand star, but compared to the stains you could have seen from space they started out as, I think these came out AMAZING!

How did she do it, you ask?!

Step 1:  Had a mental melt-down, thinking I would have to recut and make two of these tiny stars.

Step 2:  Consulted the internet.  Google, is it possible to get out iron scorch marks?!  PLEASE!?!

Step 3:  Found some instructions, scoffed, I don’t think that will work.

Step 4:  Tried them!  Started by spraying the stained pieces with my spray bottle of just water.  that seems to get the fabric actually absorbing stuff, and not just bouncing it off the top.

Step 5:  Pour on a bit of Hydrogen Peroxide on the spotted sections and rub it in with a Q-tip.

Step 6:  Dip a different Q-tip into some Ammonia and rub that over the spotted sections.  I rubbed a little harder and used a touch more where the staining was very dark.

Step 7:  Wait 10-15 minutes, but don’t let the fabric dry.  When mine started to just a bit, I gave it a quick spritz with my water bottle.

Step 8:  My instructions were for a garment, which I am obviously not working with, it said to flood with water then wash in Oxy-Clean.  I simply sprayed them down very well with plain water, then set them on a folded hand towel.  I folded the  rest of the towel over the stars and pressed, then rolled the towel up.

Step 9:  I did all of this on my ironing board, so I sprayed it down very well with water and then used my iron to dry it.  I left my stars rolled up in my hand towel while I did that.  Then I simply unrolled them, and gently pressed them dry with my iron, gave them a light spritz of Best Press, and they are back in the done pile.

Whew!  Dodged a bullet there!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

