Posted in General, Thoughts

We’re gonna need a bigger boat… Er… Wall…

IMG_2772My Plain and Fancy quilt has now officially outgrown my design wall and is now officially the biggest quilt I have ever made!  Yesterday I Instagramed (that’s a verb now, right?) the tiny piece hell I was in making my second batch of tiny sashing stars  It has been taking me a whole day to finish a batch of 6 of these sashing strips, luckily, it is so worth it.  They look amazing, but it is still a LONG time working on them.  I now am half done with both my sashing and cornerstones.

IMG_2777So I decided that since I had enough sashing pieces to make my block rows that I would sew them IMG_2776together.  As you can see, though this overflowed the capacity of my design wall, and if you are a careful observer, you will also notice that the rows are sideways.  That was the only way I could hope to fit them up on the wall.  I am really pleased with the progress and can’t WAIT to see it finished up.  I think it will be something that we love for many years.  I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but I probably won’t be able to finish it before the end of the month, because Camp is coming up SO SOON!  I am excited and a little terrified for that!

The days are heating up again, and Miss Pixel has found her spot.  On the new loveseat…  She looks like a floating head dog in this picture, but it makes me laugh.IMG_2774

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

