Posted in General, Thoughts, Tip

The Fancy Part

Well, the Fancy part of my Plain and fancy quilt (the appliqué cornerstones) are now finished!  My rows are together, and all I have to do is finish the last half of the tiny star sashing.  That seems to be my least favorite part so far.  I thought that  the appliqué would be worse, but those were much faster and easier than I thought they would be.  The worst part was getting rid of the tear-away stabilizer!

If I had one thing to do over, I would make the green stems and leaves one piece instead of three, that way I wouldn’t have to get them spaced or positioned correctly, and they would be easier to press and satin stitch.  Maybe harder to cut out, but I think in the long run, it would have been worth it.  If I ever make this quilt again…  Uhhh…  Well, you know… 😉

In other news, the dogs are living the moderate weather today, I caught Pixel laying on the porch with just her nose out the open sliding glass door.  I am really enjoying it myself.  Camp Create is next week, I know it will be a long week, but I think it will be really fun and rewarding.  I am excited.

Well, I should get back to my tiny star sashing now. 🙂

Piece.

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

