Posted in General, Tip

Thursday=Saturday

So my hubby took Thursday and Friday off this week.  So today seems like Saturday.  Since we don’t want to spend any more money this month, we are laying pretty low.  But I did get a BIG check off of my list this morning already.  I made my cutting table into a pressing table!  Now it can serve dual purpose, and I only need half the furniture.  I didn’t do the worlds cleanest job, but it will do just fine.  I used a layer of fleece, a layer of insul-brite, a layer of batting and then my cotton top.  I should have stapled everything but the cotton down first so that I could replace the top easily when it got stained, but of course, I didn’t think of that.  I just layered everything, then stapled it around the bottom of the table.  It worked out just fine, it doesn’t look the best, because I just sort-of hack/trimmed it, but it’s totally functional, and that’s mostly what I care about.  Plus it matches my cute purple wall. 🙂

In my last post, I was talking about prepping for rearranging.  Which I did!  My books have all been sorted, my closet has been cleaned out, floor swept, furniture completely rearranged.  I made it so the left side of my sewing cabinet was in the dead center of the room, no more hitting walls when I am quilting, or not being able to get the table far enough away from the wall!

I still have to tackle the great scrap pile…  I kinda want to donate the whole thing and start again, but I can’t bring myself to get rid of it all. 🙂  So for now, it’s in the corner of my office under the drafting/computer table.  The only other homeless pile is my completed quilts.  The ladder I had been using had to go, there just wasn’t space for it anymore, plus it tipped over every time the dogs went near it, freaking them out completely.  So those are the only two mystery piles, everything else is in it’s place.

Speaking of dogs, they are definitely enjoying the gorgeous wIMG_2827eather today, maybe a little too much, Taco came inside smelling distinctly of having rolled in something gross, so he got his long over-due bath and nail trim.  Pixel was freaking out because she thought she would be next to have to go in the tub.  She didn’t smell nearly as badly, so she got a pass this time.  This was him from a couple of days ago basking in his favorite sun puddle… He will be back to that later today, once his fur is dry again.  For now, he’s hanging out in my studio, chilling.

Well, I should be off, maybe I can will myself into starting my last batch of tiny sashing stars for Plain and Fancy…  Ugh, I just want to be done, but I can’t seem to start the last batch. 🙂  Ok, just start!  Then I won’t want to do anything else until it’s finished, because I won’t want to clean it up, right? 🙂

Piece

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

