Posted in General, Thoughts

It’s a Red Letter Day!

I had to look up what it meant when it was said “Red-letter day”.  Have you ever noticed on calendars sometimes the holiday dates are printed in red?  That’s what it means, it’s just a special day. 🙂

IMG_2842It’s a special day because my Plain and Fancy top is FINISHED!  Here the last seam is pinned up, ready to sew.  I zipped that one up, did a little pressing, and layed tIMG_2844he quilt out on my bed.
Here’s that last seam sewn and pressed.

What can I say about this stunner of a quilt?  Well, I learned a lot.  I learned the values of Best Press, I learned the correct setting for a scant quarter inch on my machine with my quarter inch foot.  I learned that big projects are big projects for a reason, but when you get to the end?  They’re worth it.  This one was definitely a IMG_2850HUGE project.  It took about 14 months, obviously that wasn’t constant work, but I tried to work on it fairly consistently for the last about 6 months, at least weekly, but sometimes that was more, sometimes less.

Next step:  Quilting…  I think I’m going to do something new here too.  I think I’m going to have it long-arm quilted.  Now, to make some calls…  🙂  I will keep you posted.  IMG_2848
So that’s my big news, a second finish off of my deadlines board this week.  Yesterday I finished a Princess Peach order.  It’s also one completed goal for this year!  I think it’s the first one to be completed.  I only have two more deadline quilts on my board for this year, but that can fluctuate with orders and whims.  I think it’s time to move on to my next long-term large project now, but to decide will it be Moda Modern Building Blocks or Eleanor Burns’ Egg Money sampler quilt?  Hard to tell with me. 🙂

I might have some more info later, until then…

Piece!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

One thought on “It’s a Red Letter Day!

Leave a Reply

