Posted in General, Thoughts, Tip

It Came as if a Dream…

Do you ever have a conversation with someone who has not only no vested interest in the topic, but also doesn’t fully understand what you are talking about?  I do that sometimes to my husband, who always knows what I’m saying, and absolutely cares about what I’m saying, but, has little to no vested interest in the process of my quilting studio.

He loves the process, the outcome, and all, but the daily workings allude him, like they do most.  It’s like when he is telling me about coding software, I have a basic understanding, but I just don’t get it all the way.

I find, at least for myself, that these brief conversations really go a long way into shedding light on a subject where you tend to be stuck maybe unnecessarily.

I had one of these very conversations with my husband yesterday wherein I posed my scrap problem.  I said, “I just don’t know what I’m going to do with all of these scraps…”

To which he replied, “Just throw them away!”

I hemmed and hawed for a brief moment.  Wasteful, I like to have small scraps various colors, leaders and enders, appliqué, etc, etc, when it hit me.  I had myself contemplated throwing the small scraps away, but I really didn’t want to.  I knew it then.

I also knew how much work it was going to be to process all of those small scraps down into either squares or ticker tapes.  When I also realized, I have no desire to have ticker tapes, and waste, eh, I am not too fussy about, I want to maximize my fabric, but not to the point of crazy obsession.

It came out of nowhere, don’t worry about the waste, don’t worry about the rotary cutting:  just die cut the scraps!  That way, I can cut like 6 at a time, I can get perfect 2½” and 4½” Squares, no muss, no fuss, and probably in a quarter of the amount of time of pressing, and rotary cutting those suckers! 🙂

That way, I will also have 3 extra boxes, just what I need for my second set of warm, cool and neutral large scraps.

It’s all coming together!

Piece(s)!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

