Posted in Uncategorized

Meet the Mets and A Cavalcade of Quilts

IMG_3108Well, I have been working my behind off lately.  I have made and sent out 6 quilts since my Uncle’s Chemo quilt, and yesterday I shopped borders and finished the top of my donation quilt for Family Promise.  The main body, center of patchwork I did using two charm packs as leaders and enders.  The Moda Mill Book Circa 1852 collection and Kona Snow.  So I’m a busy beaver right now.  IMG_3095Add on top of that my husband being a die-hard New York Mets fan (who advanced to the World Series for t
he first time in 15 years earlier this week), between making a trip to New York (a 4 1/2 hour trip one-way), watching games on TV, and trying to keep up on the TV that we actually watch outside of baseball, it’s kept nights fairly full.

Days have obviously been spent quilting.  Oh, and then there’s those two Pibbles of mine.  They have been enjoying the cooler fall air in the back yard, and they had birthdays.  Pixel turned 5 at the end of September, and since we don’t know Taco’s age, we celebrated 2 years of having him in our family in the first week of October.  They both scarfed down a Wendy’s Cheesy-Cheddar burger on Pixel’s birthday to celebrate.  Like, scarfed, like, I didn’t have time to take a picture before they were gone.  Like HAPPY puppies (with HORRIBLE gas after that).  With the cooler weather, it is also the start of snuggle season.

IMG_3083

October is also Pit Bull Awareness month, so I have been doing what I can to
share some educational information on Facebook and to anyone who asks (oh yeah, I had a “I’ve heard they can turn on their owners…” this month), luckily I have some good talking points when stuff like that comes up.  Thank goodness I do my research.

My other six quilts for work were two sets of Mario and Luigi twin quilts (I have had those in my shop for 4 years, and not sold one, and this year, I’ve sold 4 sets, crazy!), a Princess Peach, and a Kirby (all of which are in my shop, feel free to check them out if you so desire).  I also have two more Mario quilts on order, to get out within the next 2 weeks.

My husband picked out curtains for his man-cave when I dragged him to a quilt shop on our way back from New York on Monday.  IMG_3109Also, yesterday my Moda Frovol, #3 arrived!  YAY!  This one contains fabric for a whole top (28″ x 32″), as well as a small notepad, a pattern for the top, and a bonus quote card with a block pattern on the back (as per us).  The fabric is very Civil War repro-y, which isn’t totally my thing, but I think that it would make a great gift.

So, that is my Cavalcade of Quilting news, I will be trying to keep up a little better now, but who knows, it’s hard for me to set aside time to do all of the necessary jazz to blog, and my photography set-up right now, not optimal, but I will do my best going forward.

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

