Posted in General, Thoughts

On the Nature of Things

So here we are, hurtling closer to the mid-point of the year, and I haven’t blogged in two months.  I never even blogged my start of the year goals, heck, I never even blogged my end of the year goal wrap-up from last year.

Do I have excuses, of course, am I going to make them.  No…  I will say that the last couple of days of March and almost all of April were a swirling hot-mess of hospital, funeral, death and grief.  My father-in-law passed on April 20 after a harrowing fight consisting of 26 days in the ICU.  It was a long and difficult process for the whole family.  I am just now starting to come out of the fog of emotional and physical exhaustion, and the process is really just starting for my husband, his mom, and his brother and sister.

But there were many blessings during that time, my husband got to be with our niece when she found out about her  Ivy League university acceptance, we got to spend time with and know the family in a more real way and we are able to move forward into the continuing difficult days as a single unit.  It is also working to hone my faith in God and that of my husband.

I started long-arming, which I believe I mentioned earlier in the year.  I have had two sessions now, and have been able to finish one of the quilts.  The other has binding on it, ready to be turned.  In the many days I spent waiting in the hospital waiting rooms, I was able to turn two quilts, my first long armed one and a second baby quilt that I quilted quickly while I was home between trips I am starting to hack away at my “tops finished” list, but there are still about 10 to get to, not to mention my next two to-do’s which more information will follow about shortly, but for now, let’s just say one has to be done by graduation season!!!  Luckily I have two long-arming sessions before my niece’s graduation.  Hopefully a half-day will be enough to finish the gianormity that I am making is done!  I know the top will go fast, it is about a quarter finished, just after 1 day of working.  I should only have a couple of days more to go one it before the pieces are done, and one more for me to put it together.

Ok, so I just wanted to get checked in, now I am off to work on graduation quilt!  Take Care out there and Piece!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

