Posted in General, Thoughts

I’ve Finally Done it!!!

So, remember how it’s now the END of May, and remember how I told you at the end of LAST YEAR that I was going to go through and set my quilting goals for this year.  Yeah, well, it has FINALLY happened…  I understand if your enthusiasm is mock, but in my defense, the year did not start all that smoothly.

So let’s just say that by the end of 2015, my goals were a mess.  No where near where I wanted to be, but my life is so much different than it was at the start of 2015, that is mildly understandable.  This year, my quilting goals are just that, and life goals, well, that is still to be sorted out… 🙂  Someday, I will get there, I’m sure of it!

Today, I have IMG_3473finished the top of my Niece’s graduation quilt, it goes with me to long-arming on June 2.    That I showed you in my last blog.

I have finished the top of my Shine quilt…  OMG, I have to show you my Shine quilt!  So, the photo is not that good, and I apologize for that, but, I’m not shooting for a monetized blog here, just mostly personal memories.  So this Shine quilt won’t really be complete until the quilting is done, but it was inspired by a song by the band, Transatlantic.  I have had this in my head for almost a year, and took the last few days to get it out.  The quilting will really tell the story, though.  I’m excited to get it done, I’m not sure if it will go with me to the long-armer or if I will just try to do it here on the domestic, but either way, I feel like it’s pretty epic.

Here I am a page in, and haven’t talked a bit about my goals, but I’m telling you all of the back story because I hit a lull this morning, I have the major things that I wanted to get done recently finished, and so when I sat down in my studio today, I was like where next.  Time to re-evaluate.  So with no further ado, my 2016 Quilting goals!

  1.  All of my deadlined work, that at this point includes the graduation quilt, and my youngest nephew’s 3rd birthday quilt (not until next April, but planning ahead), and then any orders I get, which right now includes a set of Mario and Luigi crib quilts for a set of twins due in July.
  2. Get all of my closet quilts (which at last count was 8…  oy) quilted.  They don’t all have to be bound and tagged, but I want them quilted by the end of the year.
  3. Glass-Half Full kit, I want to get that one made, it seems to be the simplest of the kits that I have right now, and I want to get those on the move. 🙂
  4. Moda Modern Building Blocks.  That seems to be a stretch-goal.  I don’t know if at this point (when I have 2, count them 2 blocks done) can I finish this top by the end of the year, but I will give it a shot, as it has been on my goals board for almost 2 1/2 years now.

And that, my friends, is it.  It doesn’t seem like much, but considering that I only have a half of the year to work on them, AND that they are pretty involved, each of them, I think it’s enough for now.  I think today would be a good day to make some Needle catches.  I’m off.

Until next time…

Piece!

 

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

One thought on “I’ve Finally Done it!!!

Leave a Reply

