Posted in General, Thoughts

Flying Summer

Summer seems to be flying by, the days being filled with volunteering, relative visits, vacation and long-arm quilting.  I have quilted 2 quilts since my niece’s Graduation quilt.  I finished a leaders and enders quilt made with one of the Mill Series charm packs.  I have the binding on, but not turned, I will post a pic when I get it turned.  I have a pile of 4 quilts that need to be turned.  I was saving them because turning binding was the only thing I was able to do while sitting in the Hospital while my father-in-law was there, so I thought it may be good to have a few projects at that stage, but I’m praying that we won’t have another situation like that again.  So maybe I should just get to turning those bindings.  Then I can actually add them to the list of finished quilts.  I only have 1 quilt on my deadlines list at this point.  While on vacation at a Progressive Rock music festival, I had a quilt signed by the band, that I had made for my husband.  One of the band members wanted one.  So I am making another one for him.

We are in the midst of building a man-cave for my husband in the basement, we are almost there, we are at the point where we can start clearing out his office.  His office is going to become my new studio, and my current studio is going to become our guest room. We are hoping that once that is finished, we can give houseguests a place to rest without having to give up our bedroom every time someone is here.

In preparation for moving my studio, I am going through some of my things, getting rid of a few things, as well as building some storage.  There is so much to go through, and so much to get rid of, so much to separate out.  The guest room will also act as an office, so I an stop the overtaking of my studio with books and papers that aren’t sewing related.  Hopefully this will help focus my sewing time on sewing. 🙂  Novel concept, huh?

So I am still here, busy as summer always is.  With some finishes on the horizon.  Stay tuned.

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

