Posted in General, photography, Thoughts

Photography

Is killin’ me. 🙂  I guess my lack of blogging is a direct result of lack of good pictures for my blog.  I want to write, but I am just not able to get a setup good enough to take pictures of my finished quilts, and so…  I end up not blogging at all.  I have started posting pictures to Instagram.  Mostly while I’m in progress.  I like that better, the pressure on myself to have a GREAT photo is much less…  If it’s a little wonky, or too far away, I can crop it.  If there’s not enough light, I can throw on a filter and brighten the sucker up…  🙂

So what have I been working on?  I made a quilt for my cousin’s son’s wedding, which was at the beginning of the month.  That turned out pretty great and everyone loved it.  I finished the top of my Fancy Fox quilt for my nephew’s birthday, I go to the long-armers tomorrow to quilt that.  I finished “Shine” completely, the picture, as I explained earlier is not that great. and it’s mostly of the spare bedroom re-do that was mostly finished at the point that I took that picture.  Plain and Fancy is still quilted, but it is still folded up on one of my bins, and no binding has been attached yet.  I am a little afraid to attach the binding, if I’m being honest because that sucker is SO heavy, I think it’s going to be a little bit of a nightmare.  I will tackle it soon, I’m sure.

I made myself a Christmas quilt, the top here using some of my favorites, the Cotton + Steel Santas are the best.  It reminds me of my Grandma’s 1950’s Christmas decorations.  On the right is a quilt top for a baby boy who should be born in the middle of next month sometime.  I went with all blues and greys from my 2½” strips and did a quick strip race quilt.  Now I just have to get it quilted and bound.

I guess the biggest news is that I moved from my old studio into my NEW STUDIO!  It is so much better, I have separated all of the “Office stuff” out and it is strictly for quilting…  well…  Mostly.  I do have my laptop in here most of the time, which can lead to some work being done in here as well, but mostly, it’s strictly for quilting.  I have more light, more space, and I’m very excited about it.  will it mean more quilts?  Actually, so far it  has meant I am putting in some more work time than usual.  So I guess it is working.  I still don’t have a space to take great pictures of completed quilts, but who knows, maybe I will get that figured out soon, too.

I suppose that’s it for now.  Keep on sewing away, I know I am, even if I have no photographic evidence of it! 🙂

 

Piece!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

