Posted in General, Thoughts

GOOOOOOOAAAAAALLLLLL!! review

So, I had some time to check through my 2016 goals…  After the rocky start to 2016, I didn’t even get my goals set until like, May.  That being said, I think I did pretty well.  Let’s take a look, shall we?!

  •  All of my deadlined work, that at this point includes the graduation quilt, and my youngest nephew’s 3rd birthday quilt (not until next April, but planning ahead), and then any orders I get, which right now includes a set of Mario and Luigi crib quilts for a set of twins due in July.

This is DONE!  I made my niece’s college dorm bed with her sciencestist quilt at the end of the summer, and I was so proud of her, she seemed like she loved it as well.  that was the impression that I got! 🙂  My nephew’s quilt is done, all except for the tag.  I have it bound and turned!  I have all of my orders cleared out.

  • Get all of my closet quilts (which at last count was 8…  oy) quilted.  They don’t all have to be bound and tagged, but I want them quilted by the end of the year.

All but 2 charity quilts are done!  These two are about a 1 hour each home quilt job.  I don’t think it’s worth it to pay for long-arming time for these two, because for 1 they are UGGGGLLLLLLYYYYY… 🙂  Besides the fact that the quilting is simple enough to do if I ever need a charity quilt in a pinch. 

Other than those two, all of my back-log of tops have been quilted and bound.  All but 4 have been turned as well!  So I would say my progress is pretty good, and that goal is COMPLETED!

  • Glass-Half Full kit, I want to get that one made, it seems to be the simplest of the kits that I have right now, and I want to get those on the move. 🙂

This is going to have to move into a 2017 goal, one of which is to pick out specific quilt goals for every month.  More on that soon.

  • Moda Modern Building Blocks.  That seems to be a stretch-goal.  I don’t know if at this point (when I have 2, count them 2 blocks done) can I finish this top by the end of the year, but I will give it a shot, as it has been on my goals board for almost 2 1/2 years now.

This quilt is also, unfortunately exactly where it was 6 months ago as well.  2 out of 4 goals accomplished, 50% seems to be about my norm for goal hitting…  I want to make that better…  

So all in all, 2016 was not a great year for me, I think that’s pretty obvious.  I have already put some things into place to try to make 2017 better and more productive.  More on that to come, soon, I promise.  Until then!

Piece!

 

 

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

