Posted in Fabric Tracking, General, Thoughts

A Change of Pace.

So I don’t know that anyone but me follows the times I make posts very closely, but today I decided to do something to change up my regular Friday routine and I’m posting much earlier than normal.  And I’m posting from my local coffee shop!  I thought that sitting down and blogging during a nice breakfast out in public would help me gain some inspiration.  The vibe here is cool, laid-back, they are playing Billy Joel’s Greatest Hits over the intercom system…  Just my kind of scene.

The people watching gets a bit distracting for me at times, but I’m trying to work through it. 🙂

So why this break from tradition?  Usually I’m rushing on Friday to get a finish to take it out of my fabric stash for the week.  Well…  I was toiling all of this early week finishing my self-imposed required Moda Modern Building Blocks Sections.  Yesterday at about 4 o’clock in the afternoon, I joined up sections A, B and C.  My goal was to finish this quilt this quarter, in order to do that, I need to do 2 sections each of the next 2 weeks, and I will be set.  This week, I did my two sections, and actually did the lion’s share of last week’s one section, because I didn’t set my schedule until last Friday afternoon.  So that was the work of Monday up to yesterday afternoon.  The bad news is that it took FOREVER! 🙂  The good news is that it is completed!  I’m hoping the next two weeks I will be able to finish my sections in 2 days each.

So that’s what I’ve been working on, what does that mean for the numbers?  Well, no finishes this week (not even my Summer Sampler block (I’ll work on that when I get home)).  And actually, I’m going to take a yard out from last week, that I reported for my MMBB, I am going to take out the total yardage when I finish the whole thing rather than try to figure out yardage to take out every week (which is the way I said I was going to do it anyway ;)).  So here’s how it’s all panning out for this week:

 

Fabric in this week:  0
Fabric out this week:  0
Net Fabric this week:  0
Net Fabric 2017:  11.388

So I’m on track, because the MMBB when it comes out will take me into the negative.  I was really sweating it for a while!  I think I may at least finish the first half of the year in the negative!  I will also do a goal review for the first two quarters at the end of this month.

IMG_0502

The weather finally turned hot early this week, the dogs (especially the little girl) LOVED it.  She spent most of the days laying out on the porch looking out the window.  She is definitely a warm weather dog.  This is the sad puppy look she gave me when I made her come inside for a while to be in the AC.  Pretty pathetic, huh?  Yesterday and today it has cooled back down a tad, and she has free reign of the outside, she LOVES the in and out, in and out, in and out.  The male dog is more of a cool weather dog.  he loves to run around and play in the snow.  He likes to lay in front of the AC, but I did catch him the other day laying on the deck of our shed in the sun and he was sleeping hard-core.  I had to yell a couple of times just to wake him up.  He of course heard the word “cookie”, though and came a-runnin’.

So that’s how the week has gone around here.  I will be hard back to work on Monday, I will probably take the weekend to relax and chill with my husband before his crazy schedule starts.  So until next week, my friends:

Piece!

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

One thought on “A Change of Pace.

Leave a Reply

