Posted in Fabric Tracking, General, Thoughts

It’s Becoming a Thing…

It’s Friday morning and I’m back at my local coffee shop (like last week), I’ve decided to try to make it a thing.  I like the change of pace and scenery for Friday mornings.  Plus, I have been working like crazy this week, and my numbers have nothing to show for it again, actually, you might notice that my numbers actually went up.  I went back and took out my 2017 Summer Sampler numbers, I decided to take those out when the top was finished like I am doing with all of my other quilts.  It feels so nice to be able to take that big chunk out at once when the quilt top is done!

So what have I been doing and have nothing to show for it?  I am continuing to work on my Moda Modern Building Blocks quilt.  Whenever I talk about it to my husband, I refer to it as the “Never-ending Quilt,” which is exactly what it feels like…  Like it is never going to end!  I am now down to the last two sections, 14 6-inch blocks.  I got all of the large blocks out of the way, to make sure I had enough of each of the fabrics to get them done, the small blocks don’t take very much fabric at all, so I wasn’t at all worried about having enough of anything for them.  I had actually planned on making one of the sections of the small blocks so they weren’t all left to the end, but then I got worried about my fabric usage, so I made a quick change of plans.  Plus, for some reason, I am dreading the small blocks, mostly, I think because the small fussy blocks are hard for me to get straight and flat.

 

fullsizeoutput_1375

After I blogged last week, I also finished my Summer Sampler block, I really liked the way this one turned out, but another fussy 6-inch block…  Seems to be a theme.  I haven’t done my block for this week yet.  I am kind-of enjoying seeing what other people do throughout the week, and hearing what their struggles are so I can try to avoid them.

So, what’s the fabric breakdown, you are asking, right?  All that work and nothing to show for it, really?

 

Fabric in this week:  0
Fabric out this week:  0
Net Fabric this week:  0
Net Fabric 2017:  12.388

Yes, actually, nothing in nothing out, stalled out at a little over 12 yards.  I went through and figured out how much yardage I would be taking out when I finally finish my Moda Modern Building Blocks, and it will (barring any purchases) put me in the NEGATIVE!  This is, by far, the most challenging quilt I have given myself as a goal for the year.  I will be glad to have it done, and I will be even more glad to have it off of my To-Do list, where it has been sitting for at least 2 years now!  Next week, hopefully it will be done and out of my fabric inventory, and I can report that AND my mid-year goal review.  I am happy to report that I am really staying on-track with them for this year so far!

Other than that, things have been pretty normal.  Busy, Busy!  And speaking of that, I should head off and get my groceries.  So until next week,

Piece!

 

Author:

40-something quilter who likes to make her own patterns, and has a soft spot for really nostalgic geeky stuff from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

